Congreso, coloquio o simposio

Infoling 11.58 (2017)
Título:10th Annual Change and Variation in Canada Workshop (CVC 10)
Entidad organizadora:University of Manitoba
Lugar de celebración:Winnipeg (Manitoba), Canadá
Fecha de inicio:4 de mayo de 2018
Fecha de finalización:5 de mayo de 2018
Circular Nº:1
Contacto:University of Manitoba,
DescripciónThe Tenth Annual Change and Variation in Canada (CVC 10) Workshop will take place May 4-5,2018 at the Université de Saint-Boniface campus in Winnipeg, organized by the University of Manitoba. CVC brings together researchers in a variationist framework working on Canadian language varieties and/or at Canadian institutions.

Plenary speaker: Dr. Jennifer Nycz, Georgetown University

This year there will be a special session on Canadian vowels. Submissions are welcome for this session, and there will be four invited talks specifically on this topic:

Invited special session speakers:
Dr. Rebecca Roeder, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Dr. Julia Swan, San Jose State University
Dr. Vincent Arnaud, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Invited student speaker:
Sky Onosson, University of Victoria

There will be two free methodological workshops for CVC participants. The first workshop will be on using R in data analysis, tailored to participants’ needs, and
facilitated by Dr. Kevin Russell (University of Manitoba). The second will be on incorporating gesture and video in variationist research, facilitated by Dr. Terry Janzen
and Dr. Erin Wilkinson (University of Manitoba).

Students are particularly encouraged to submit abstracts. Abstracts should be submitted to by February 2, 2018. Abstracts should be anonymous, no more than 300 words (not including title and references) and in either PDF or Word format. C

The subject line of the email should be: CVC Abstract Submission

The body of the email should include:
- Title
- Name(s) of presenter(s)
- Department and affiliation for each presenter
- Email for each presenter
- Technology requirements (other than projector)
- If you wish to be considered for the special session
Área temática:Sociolingüística
Comité científicoAlex Darcy, University of Victoria
Nathalie Dion, University of Ottawa
Stephen Levey, University of Ottawa
Naomi Nagy, University of Toronto
Shana Poplack, University of Ottawa
Sali Tagliamonte, University of Toronto
Gerard Van Herk, Memorial University
James Walker, York University
Comité organizadorVerónica Loureiro-Rodríguez, University of Manitoba
Nicole Rosen, University of Manitoba
Plazo de envío de propuestas: hasta el2 de febrero de 2018
Notificación de contribuciones aceptadas:20 de febrero de 2018
Lengua(s) oficial(es) del evento:inglés, francés,

Fecha de publicación en Infoling:21 de noviembre de 2017
Verónica Loureiro Rodríguez
University of Manitoba