Congreso, coloquio o simposioInfoling 2.21 (2020)

Título:The Acquisition and Processing of Reference and Anaphora Resolution (APRAR)
Entidades organizadoras:Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB): Department of Linguistics and Literary Studies (Centre for Linguistics CLIN); Universidad de Granada (UGR): Department of English and German Philology
Lugar de celebración:Bruselas, Bélgica
Fecha de inicio:5 de mayo de 2020
Fecha de finalización:6 de mayo de 2020
Circular Nº:1
Contacto:An Vande Casteele,

The theme of the conference ties in with the research topic of the ANACOR project (ANACOR: A corpus-based approach to anaphora resolution in second language acquisition: beyond the interfaces), a research project based at the Universidad de Granada.




Referring to entities is a fundamental aspect of languages. It allows to refer to things and people in the world. Speakers can opt for different referential expressions (e.g. overt and null pronouns, noun phrases, proper names, etc.) to indicate a particular entity in discourse and listeners have to be able to select the correct referent according to the speaker’s intention. This is often known as anaphora resolution. When acquiring, processing and resolving reference, several factors are involved, such as information status (topic/focus), the syntactic position of the antecedent, the accessibility of the referent, the number of potential or competing antecedents, the distance between the referential expression and its antecedent, etc.




The aim of this conference is to address reference and anaphora resolution. The following topics will be discussed:

  • The processing and acquisition of reference/anaphora resolution in different populations (native speakers, L2 learners, bilinguals, children, heritage speakers, attriters, etc.).
  • The multiple factors that constrain reference/anaphora resolution (morphosyntactic, semantic, discursive and cognitive factors).
  • Reference/anaphora resolution across typologically similar/different languages.
  • Methodological approaches to reference/anaphora resolution (corpus, experimental, etc).
  • Theoretical models that account for reference/anaphora resolution.
  • Any combination of the above topics.



The conference will also host two hands-on workshops on methodological approaches to reference/anaphora resolution:

  • Workshop 1 (corpus methods): Annotating and analysing anaphora resolution with UAM Corpus Tool software (Nobuo Ignacio López-Sako & Ana Díaz-Negrillo, Universidad de Granada).
  • Workshop 2 (experimental methods): Designing a psycholinguistic experiment on anaphora resolution in the Open Sesame software (Cristóbal Lozano, Universidad de Granada).

These workshops are intended for PhD students but are also open to all types of researchers.



We invite the submission of abstracts for full papers. Abstracts for an oral presentation (20 minutes + 10 minutes discussion time) must not exceed 500 words, including references, and should mention the main research question(s), methodology, data and (expected) results. Abstracts will be reviewed anonymously. Please submit your abstract via EasyChair:



15/03/2020: Registration opens

30/03/2020: Early bird registration closes

01/04/2020: Final program publication

15/04/2020: Late bird registration closes

Área temática:Español como lengua extranjera (ELE), Español como segunda lengua (EL2), Lingüística cognitiva, Lingüística de corpus, Lingüística románica, Neurolingüística, Pragmática, Psicolingüística, Sintaxis, Sociolingüística



 Antonella Sorace (University of Edinburgh)

 Ianthi Maria Tsimpli (University of Cambridge)

 Jacopo Torregrossa (Goethe Universität Frankfurt-am-Main)

Comité científico

An Vande Casteele – Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Cristóbal Lozano – Universidad de Granada

Renata Enghels – Universiteit Gent

Stefanie Keulen – Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Marcus Callies – Universität Bremen

Alex Housen – Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Ana Díaz-Negrillo – Universidad de Granada

Pedro Guijarro Fuentes – Universitat de les Illes Balears

Nobuo Ignacio López-Sako – Universidad de Granada

Amaya Mendikoetxea – Universidad Autónoma de Madrid

Despina Papadopoulou – University of Thessaloniki

Jacopo Torregrossa – Goethe Universität Frankfurt-am-Main

Comité organizador

An Vande Casteele – Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Cristóbal Lozano – Universidad de Granada

Renata Enghels – Universiteit Gent

Stefanie Keulen – Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Kim Collewaert – Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Nobuo Ignacio López-Sako – Universidad de Granada

Ana Díaz-Negrillo – Universidad de Granada

Teresa Quesada – Universidad de Granada

Yishan Gao – Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Plazo de envío de propuestas: hasta el15 de febrero de 2020
Notificación de contribuciones aceptadas:15 de marzo de 2020
Lengua(s) oficial(es) del evento:


Fecha de publicación en Infoling:13 de febrero de 2020
Cristóbal Lozano
Universidad de Granada